QRecall Community Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Top Downloads] Top Downloads   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register /  [Login] Login 

Best way of capturing system and user data in two different archives RSS feed
Forum Index » Cookbook and FAQ
Prion

Hi

I am somewhat new to this and would like to set up two different capture strategies that would
1) capture the entire system, preferrably overnight after which the system would be put to sleep or switched off
2) capture whatever might be worth capturing in terms of data in my user's space (Documents, Pictures, Movies, Music, etc.)

Ideally these would require little or no intervention to run after their initial setup. My main machine is a 15 inch MBP and I have two different external harddrives for the two tasks, for task #1 USB2 drive in an inclosure and for task #2 a Fw800 3.5 external HDD. Both are 500GB drives. In principle there is also a TimeCapsule 1TB that I am curently using for my TimeMachine Backup. The USB2 drive for the system capture contains a minimal Snow Leopard installation plus QRecall as the only program.

Question 1:
I imagine that capturing software while it is running is asking for trouble, so presumably I would need to be running a different operating system of the same type (10.6 in my case running on the 2.5 USB drive) to backup my main harddrive in the MBP. Likewise, I would need to be logged out for capturing my user data (task #2). Correct? How do I set this up then?
If so, this would limit my backup frequency in particular for task #2 because I would then let it run at noon and at night. Perhaps that is sufficient but I don't know. How do you handle this? I cannot imagine logging our every hour for my backup to take place.

Question 2:
Can I rename a drive that I previously captured data to with Qrecall and still continue capturing data to or restoring data from?