QRecall Community Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Top Downloads] Top Downloads   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register /  [Login] Login 

Excluding files by type or regular expression or filesystem glob or ... RSS feed
Forum Index » Suggestions and Feedback
Byron Weber Becker

I'm evaluating QRecall for my backup strategy. So far (14 hours!) I am VERY impressed. The description of the underlying technology is compelling and the interface is pretty incredible.

That said, I'm really surprised there's no way to omit classes of files that don't need to be backed up. I'm a Scala/Java developer and so my drive is littered with *.class files that don't need to be backed up. The Scala compiler apparently does not set the "do not backup" flag on it's output. Setting it manually doesn't seem practical given these files could be many places on my disk.

This is related to the post by John C. Beatty on 13-Jul-16. He suggests a full regular expression for excluding files. That would be the best solution, but as an interim I'd be satisfied with being able to exclude "*.ext" where the user fills in the extension. Don't even need a UI to get started; I'd be happy to use the defaults command.

I'm hoping you can bump this higher on your to-do list.

Thanks!
James Bucanek

Byron,

Thanks for your interest in QRecall.

The ability to filter files during a capture is an oft requested feature, and it's already pretty high on the "to do" list. It is, unfortunately, held up for a couple of practical reasons (there are other features higher on the "to do" list) and for technical reasons, but I anticipate this feature will appear in QRecall 2.2.