QRecall Community Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Top Downloads] Top Downloads   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register /  [Login] Login 

/System/Library/Caches not excluded RSS feed
Forum Index » Problems and Bugs
Ming-Li Wang

Hi,

I'm new to QRecall, so I check the archives more often, just to make sure everything works as expected.

Today I noticed my daily system backup archive, which backs up the system partition (except my user folder) once per day has been making a daily catch of more than 1GB in size even when I did not install/update any applications during that day.

After some digging, I realized QRecall is backing up the whole /System/Library/Caches folder, despite the fact that "Items Excluded by Time Machine" has been checked in my daily Capture action's filter settings. And one file named "data" inside a folder called "com.apple.coresymbolicationd" is the main culprit, for it's 800+MB large, and it changes every day.

I thought /System/Library/Caches is excluded by the Time Machine, is it not?

Anyway, I've excluded it manually, so it's not a big deal. A quick check found that /Library/Caches is indeed ignored by QR. Don't have time to do a thorough check yet.

edit: forgot to mention: my system is Yosemite 10.10.1.
James Bucanek

Ming-Li,

I'm surprised too, but I'm beginning to suspect that Time Machine has some exclusion rules hard-wired, and those aren't reflected in the set of folder it claims to exclude.

Sadly, your version of Recall also has a bug that fails to exclude the /System/Library/Caches folder when you select the "Exclude caches" option. (This is fixed in a later version, which also correctly excludes any networked cache folders too.)

The manual exclusion you added will work just fine for now.

Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

- QRecall Development -
[Email]
Ming-Li Wang