QRecall Community Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Top Downloads] Top Downloads   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register /  [Login] Login 

Incorrect backup status shown for QRecall beta and El Capitan RSS feed
Forum Index » Problems and Bugs
Author Message
David Ramsey


Joined: May 5, 2012
Messages: 51
Offline
I'm running the latest QRecall beta under El Capitan. It's working perfectly-- in fact I restored some files today with it. However, the status window says it hasn't been backed up for 10 days (yesterday it said 9 days).

There was an interrupted backup 10 days ago. But every backup since then has gone perfectly (I checked the log file).

I think the failure to clear the "backup problem" is likely a bug, albeit a minor one.
James Bucanek


Joined: Feb 14, 2007
Messages: 1567
Offline
Very odd.

If you haven't already done so, please send a diagnostic report. Then, if you have the time, please locate the following files and send copies to support@qrecall.com:

1) The files in the folder ~/Library/Preferences/QRecall/Status

2) Locate the archive that's being captured, right/control+click on its icon and choose Show Package Contents. Find its status.plist file.

Send me those files and I'll have a look.


- QRecall Development -
[Email]
Adrian Chapman


Joined: Aug 16, 2010
Messages: 72
Offline
I see this quite frequently. I archive from my iMac and my wife's Macbook. The iMac is ethernet connect to a NAS, the Macbook connects wirelessly to the NAS via my router.

It is always a Macbook archive that shows up as not being run for x days, but when I check the actions have been running correctly. I should add that all my verify, merge and compact actions run from my iMac.
James Bucanek


Joined: Feb 14, 2007
Messages: 1567
Offline
David Ramsey wrote:There was an interrupted backup 10 days ago. But every backup since then has gone perfectly (I checked the log file).

I think I've discovered where the confusion lies. You have (or had) two archives. You were capturing to the older archive, but then you deleted all of the actions for that archive, created a new archive (with a different name), and created new actions for the new archive. The new archive is working just fine, but the old archive is no longer being captured to.

That's the reason it's status is giving you that warning.

Now, if the old archive is really dead and/or gone, then you can remove it from the status window by right/control+clicking on its status and choosing the Forget command. The status window will stop tracking that archive (unless you perform another action on it, then it will start monitoring it again).

- QRecall Development -
[Email]
James Bucanek


Joined: Feb 14, 2007
Messages: 1567
Offline
Adrian Chapman wrote:It is always a Macbook archive that shows up as not being run for x days, but when I check the actions have been running correctly. I should add that all my verify, merge and compact actions run from my iMac.

Adrian,

Can you clarify a few things? Are you capturing to the same archive on the NAS, or separate archives for the iMac and Macbook? Is the status message you're talking about the one on the Macbook or the iMac? Does the iMac and Macbook show different status message for the same archive? Is the NAS connected to the Macbook all of the time, or only during the capture? Does the Macbook capture occur when it's logged in or out?

When archives are shared across networks, keeping the status information up-to-date across all participants gets a little tricky.

- QRecall Development -
[Email]
David Ramsey


Joined: May 5, 2012
Messages: 51
Offline
James Bucanek wrote:
David Ramsey wrote:There was an interrupted backup 10 days ago. But every backup since then has gone perfectly (I checked the log file).

I think I've discovered where the confusion lies. You have (or had) two archives. You were capturing to the older archive, but then you deleted all of the actions for that archive, created a new archive (with a different name), and created new actions for the new archive. The new archive is working just fine, but the old archive is no longer being captured to.

That's the reason it's status is giving you that warning.

Now, if the old archive is really dead and/or gone, then you can remove it from the status window by right/control+clicking on its status and choosing the Forget command. The status window will stop tracking that archive (unless you perform another action on it, then it will start monitoring it again).


D'oh! QRecall is clearly smarter than I am. I could make the weak argument that it should stop doing this, taking the position that deleting the actions implicitly means I don't want to track it any more. But that would be pretty weak.
Adrian Chapman


Joined: Aug 16, 2010
Messages: 72
Offline
James

James Bucanek wrote:Can you clarify a few things? Are you capturing to the same archive on the NAS, or separate archives for the iMac and Macbook?

Each computer has its own pair of archives, one each for the system volume and the Users Volume.
James Bucanek wrote:Is the status message you're talking about the one on the Macbook or the iMac?

It is the status message on the iMac
James Bucanek wrote:Does the iMac and Macbook show different status message for the same archive?

I can't remember off hand, I'll check next time it happens
James Bucanek wrote:Is the NAS connected to the Macbook all of the time, or only during the capture?

The NAS is connected wirelessly via the router so unless the Macbook drops the connection, which is rare, but not unheard of, it is connected all the time. The NAS always reappears after sleep too.
James Bucanek wrote:Does the Macbook capture occur when it's logged in or out?

Captures only occur while logged in.
James Bucanek wrote:When archives are shared across networks, keeping the status information up-to-date across all participants gets a little tricky.

I can appreciate that, which is why it isn't a big issue for me.

Adrian
Redfred Garett


Joined: Sep 19, 2016
Messages: 2
Location: New York City
Offline
Hi,

I've done what you said about reset TM, it worked for a day, then the next day it was back to normal.

Thanks !!
[WWW]
 
Forum Index » Problems and Bugs
Go to:   
Mobile view
Powered by JForum 2.8.2 © 2022 JForum Team • Maintained by Andowson Chang and Ulf Dittmer